Introduction

I have decided to revolve my A Level Art work around the ‘Interpretations of the Human Form’ . I have chosen to look at this title as I have always been interested biological sciences and seeing how the human body is changing and evolving. I decided to look at this title by previously researching the human and animal anatomy at AS which has allowed me to consider how complex and intricate the human anatomy really is. The title refers to how the human form shows a range of emotions and how that is interpreted by the viewer.

From initial research i looked at artists such as Kacy Johnson and Oldrich Kulhanek which both include aspects of the human anatomy in their work. Johnson is a photographer who takes multiple images of women’s backs to show the different shapes and sizes of women as well as the different elevations between muscle and bone. All her photographs focus on women of different ages but all are all fitted identically to the frame. I believe you could use this idea for my title by showing how everyone’s body is constructed differently. This could be used in my work to show how body posture suggests the emotions.  Kulhanek is an illustrator from the Czech Republic. He draws portraits on layered paper showing the gradual change in the human face, however he usually only draws sections of the face and places the illustrations together in a collage to show how certain features change due to metamorphism.

The title has a personal reference to me because I have always had an interest in the subject of biology and more specifically the anatomy. In my A level work I am intending to focus particularly on the idea of emotions and how the human body portrays them.  I could do this by looking at science journalist’s work to see if there is a scientific reason behind why we feel emotions and see if these emotions can be seen through body posture. I would like to focus my observations mainly on creating realistic graphite drawings of the human form to show certain emotions as well as adding coloured chalk to add further emphasis of their feelings.  Other observations I may include will be my own photography work to make my title more relevant to me and personal.

 

 

Leave a comment